Home > About Us

About Us

The Media Historic Archives Commission (MHAC) acts as custodian for archival materials relating to the Borough of Media and neighboring communities. Included in the archives are thousands of photographs, maps, scrapbooks, movies, tape recordings, newspapers, memorabilia, and other artifacts. The archives were created in 1987 from the personal collection of Frank Lees (1918-1999), a lifelong resident who donated this material to the Borough of Media before his death.

While the Lees material forms the basis of the archives, we are actively seeking to add new items to the collection. Contact us if you have anything to donate. If you are unwilling to part with your treasures at this time, consider loaning them to us. We'll scan them and return the originals along with high-resolution digital copies.

Since the archives started as a personal collection, it is not a comprehensive resource with information on every house, family, and event in Media’s history. To peruse a list of resources on the history of Media and Delaware County that go beyond the limited collection of the MHAC, see the FAQ (frequently asked questions) link above.

Email us at mediahistoricarchives@gmail.com to request an appointment or for other inquiries. While we will try to respond in a timely way to all inquiries that come our way, the five volunteer members of the MHAC have other jobs and responsibilities outside this commitment, so your patience is appreciated.

MHAC meetings are held on the 4th Thursday of the month from January to October. No meeting is held in November. Meetings begin at 7 p.m. and are held in the archives room on the second floor of the Media-Upper Providence Free Library (MUPFL), 1 East Front Street (at the corner of Jackson Street), in Media.

Members of the commission serve 5-year terms. The current commissioners are Adam Levine (Chairperson), Walter Cressler, Evelyn Blair, and Addie Cianella.